Same Old Chic BoF Talks about Brazil

A few days ago it was posted at the Business of Fashion  a piece about the economy booming in Brazil and its reflects on the fashion industry. It just seems to me, like always, when the subject is Brazil there’s “some” twisted images. What most intrigued me was: why Sara Andrade, editor of Vogue Portugal, is talking about Brazil, is she Brazilian by any chance? Aren’t we so glad for our high tax over imported items? “[…] the consumer who wants good design — and that is the majority of middle and upper class Brazilians — has little choice but to buy from designers brands. In a way, the lack of affordable fashion options has forced consumers to spend on, and thereby support, serious domestic fashion labels.” My answer is not really, but I think is a perfect explanation of why we have so many good brands, after all I’m also Brazilian, I try to see the good side of life!

Poucos dias atrás foi publicado no Business of Fashion  um artigo sobre a expansão da economia no Brasil e seus reflexos na indústria da moda. Só me parece, como sempre, quando o assunto é o Brasi, a imagem é distorcida. O que me intrigou mais: por que Sara Andrade, editora da Vogue Portugal, estava falando sobre o Brasil, ela é brasileira por acaso? E a gente não é tão feliz com a nossa elevada carga fiscal sobre produtos importados? “[…] O consumidor que quer um bom design- e que é a maioria da média e alta no Brasil – tem pouca escolha mas para comprar a partir de grife importadas. De certa forma, a falta de opções acessíveis na moda forçou os consumidores a gastarem, e, assim dar suporte, as marcas nacionais.” A minha resposta é não estamos tão felizes, mas eu acho que é uma explicação perfeita de porque nós temos tantas marcas bacanas, apesar de tudo eu também sou brasileira e tento ver o lado bom da vida!

0 Responses to “Same Old Chic BoF Talks about Brazil”



  1. Deixe um comentário

Deixe uma resposta

Follow me at Bloglovin’

bloglovin


